Good morning sunshine, I’ll get you some waffles.

Finally. It’s been years. Yes, literally years.I’ve been tossing around the idea of starting a food blog forever, always procrastinating (I’m especially good at that) or coming up with some excuse not to (what to call it was my big one). But! No more. Welcome to my little corner of the Internet where I’ll share with you all the goodness cooking up in my little blue kitchen. Some of it original recipes created by me, some of it inspired by others. All of it delicious 🙂

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Yesterday Yesterday I snuck out of bed early, while the man and dog slept. I tiptoed downstairs, brewed a pot of coffee and got into the groove with Pandora. My mission: waffles. It was a recipe I saw posted a few weeks ago on Joy the Baker and was dying to try ever since. Lemon ricotta poppy seed waffles. You had me at lemon, Joy. Then you went and threw in ricotta and I gone done fell in love. These could very well be called Sunshine Waffles. The brightness of the lemon combined with the gentle warmth of the ricotta make these waffles a sunshiney start to the day.

image

image

image

Lemon Ricotta Poppyseed Waffles 

(recipe from Joy the Baker)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 tablespoon fresh lemon zest

1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup part-skim milk ricotta cheese

3/4 cup water or milk (I used water)

2 teaspoons poppy seeds (optional)

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, rub together granulated sugar and lemon zest until the sugar is scented with lemon.  Add the lemon sugar to the bowl with the dry ingredients.

In a bowl or large measuring cup, whisk together butter, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice, ricotta, and water.  Whisk until thoroughly combined.

Add the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients and stir to combine.  Add the poppy seeds (if using) and stir to incorporate.  Try not to over mix the batter.  It’s ok if a few lumps remain.

Heat you waffle iron according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Dollop batter into the waffle iron and cook until golden brown.  Serve immediately**.  These waffles can also be individually wrapped and frozen.  They’re great heated up in the toaster or in the oven.

**While these would be best served immediately, since aforementioned members of house where still sleeping as I selflessly slaved over a hot waffle iron, I kept these warm and toasty on a baking sheet in the oven set to 200 degrees. Keep them in a single layer so they stay crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. If you stack them, the steam generated will make them soggy (yet still very edible, I’m sure).

I served them with a drizzle of honey and a big bowl of fresh fruit.

It was a good morning.

xo

5 thoughts on “Good morning sunshine, I’ll get you some waffles.

  1. Wow, I was just wondering today, when were you ever going to start your food blog. At supper tonight, I almost said to Betsey, “I wish Jenny would start her food blog.” So,wow, was I surprised to just see this now. Nice!!!! Proud of you!

Leave a comment